April Classic – 1984

1984

 

For my April Classic I decided to break away from my newfound Jane Austen comfort zone and read something completely different. I turned to my TBR and picked out 1984 by George Orwell. I’d had it for ages, gathering dust while my parents and friends mentioned what a good book it is, so I picked it up and the rest is history.

I have to admit, it wasn’t what I was expecting, I was expecting a fairly dry storyline, with a lot of political jargon as all I’d heard about the novel itself was that it was to do with intelligence and a tyrannical government. However, I was greatly surprised. Set in Airstrip One, formerly Great Britain before it was torn apart by conflict, Winston Smith is a government worker who secretly resents the Party who rules them and spies on them using ‘Telescreens’. It follows him as begins to rebel against the organisation and falls in love with Julia, a fellow government worker turned rebel as they join an underground rebellion.

One thing I loved about this novel, is that it is still relevant despite being published decades of years before – the government snooping on our messages and conversations due to the passing of The Snooper’s Charter a few months ago but obviously it’s no0t as extreme (apart from some countries). This is one of the reasons why 1984 will continue to be a classic for many years to come -it is the birth of dystopia in  my opinion – and is a novel of real cultural significance. Orwell predicted many technological and cultural advances and for that, 984 deserves its place on the bookshelves of classics.

Rating: 4.5 stars

Image courtesy of Amazon.

Leave a Reply

