January Classic – Pride & Prejudice

Pride-and-Prejudice

I know we’re in February but I’ve been meaning to post this for ages for the 2016 Classics Challenge (such a shame schoolwork gets in the way!). This is my first time doing the Classics Challenge run by Stacey over at The Pretty Books blog (check it out!) and so far, so good!

For my January classic I selected Pride & Prejudice because a) it’s been sitting on my shelf for almost 2 years now (!) and b) I’ve been looking for an excuse to read Jane Austen books since I finished Emma (fantastic!) a few months ago. Obviously, I already knew about Pride & Prejudice – it’s one of the most famous romance novels ever – but I didn’t really start to become interested in reading it until I watched the Lizzie Bennet Diaries web series on YouTube which acted as a modern retelling of it in the digital age. It was witty, funny and just overall amazing, so I decided to give the classic a go. Because I’m broke pretty much all the time though, I didn’t buy it until I was on holiday with my friend in West Wales and I discovered it for 25 pence in a charity shop (bargain!). I was certain I would read it there and then, but I didn’t, so here I am almost 2 years later!

Anyway, I digress! I think the main reason why Pride and Prejudice has remained a classic years after its publication is because firstly, everyone is a sucker for a love story and also, Lizzie Bennet was the original BAMF before the term was even coined! It serves as your guide for navigating early 19th century, and all the social cues that go with it. Austen turns something that could so easily have become forgettable (like a lot of love stories) and turned it into pages of hilarity, satire and frank truths about female friendships, what happens when your parents interfere with your love life, and not to judge a book by its cover! Also, Mr Darcy is the ultimate book boyfriend (who doesn’t love a man who’s dark and broody?) although I do have a soft spot for the lovely Mr Bingley! In fact, I challenge anyone who reads this book to not fall in love with Mr Darcy (it’s pretty impossible!)In short, you can keep your Augustus Waters’ and Cedric Diggorys – I’d pick Fitzwilliam Darcy every time!

In case you haven’t guessed yet, I loved Pride and Prejudice as even though it was published hundreds of years ago it still seems relevant in the 21st century. In fact, I think it’s more relevant than a lot of modern romance novels at the moment and because if this, I think it will stay a classic for many years to come!

So, in summary, I would recommend this book to everyone who loves a good romance novel that’s full of vivid, memorable characters, a kick-ass heroine (who doesn’t actually need to kick asses to be awesome) and needs something fresh after they’ve been in a stale reading slump for far too long!

Happy reading!

To find out more about the 2016 Classics Challenge, click here.

 

Leave a Reply

