Top 5 Underrated Books

As you can probably tell, I am a massive bookworm! I pride myself on my varied taste (though I do have a slight, okay total bias towards YA) but there are so man books that I’ve just adored, that so many people haven’t! So this week, in order to tackle that, I’m writing a list of the 5 books that I think are the most underrated (and people NEED to read!)

  1. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

the strange and beautiful sorrows of ava lavender

I know I constantly talk about this book but that’s because it is just completely and utterly amazing! It interweaves romance, fantasy, realism, thriller and family saga all in one effortlessly! It is gripping, heart-wrenching and beautifully written book. SO GO FORTH AND READ! (Please!)

2) Althea and Oliver by Cristina Moracho

a&o

Seeing as romance/friendzone fiction is so popular, I’m genuinely surprised this book hasn’t taken off like others. Although I’m not a massive fan of the whole ‘childhood friends fall in love as teeangers’ kind of thing, this book does it so well. It’s also plagued by a moral dilemma that happens in the middle of the book which definitely makes you think, which is what a good book should do.

3) We Can Be Heroes by Catherine Bruton

we can be heroes

First of all, this book is hilarious! It tackles so many tough topics, such as Islamophobia post 9/11, coming-of-age, fractured family relationships, unlikely friendships, sealing with a parent who has mental health issues, and trying to fend for yourself. Full of vibrant characters, a quirky storyline and characters you can’t help but root for, We Can Be Heroes is a must read!

4) All My Friends are Superheroes by Andrew Kaufman

all my friends are superheroes

I briefly mentioned this book in a tag a while ago, and it’s easily the shortest book on this list – but it’s full of heart. It’s centred around a man, whose wife, a superheroine can’t remember him after being hypnotised by her ex. Her husband is an ordinary man, but how he recounts how they met and his past relationships, all you will want is for her to remember him and get back together. It’s a great twist on the superhero genre and you must read it! You’ll be all the better for it!

5) Saffy’s Angel  by Hilary McKay

saffy's angel

I feel that the Casson Family doesn’t get enough credit. It’s laugh-out loud, it will make you cry (if you’re as sentimental as me when you finish a book series) and it’s gritty, although it hides under a mask of frothiness. Saffy’s Angel is the first book in the series, and definitely one of my favourites! It’s about Saffy, who after discovering she’s actually adopted (the woman who she thought was her mother, was in fact her auntie) she sets out to find the last memento of her real mother. It’s heartwarming, and the characters are so lovable, even the stiff patriarch of the family.

So there are my top 5 underrated books -what are yours?

Leave a Reply

