Inside Out Book Tag

So a few days ago, Rachel over at YA-bbering Booklover tagged me in the Inside Out Book Tag. The tag was originally created by Kristina Horner.

Joy – The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

joy

I know I talk about this book a lot (it’s definitely in my top 10) but I love it so much! It was one of the first YA standalone novels I read which I wanted to read again straight after finishing it! A fantastic tale of magic in rainy Washington, telling the tale of the Lavender women and their tragic love stories. It keeps me on the edge of my seat and I love disappearing back into that world again and again.

Disgust – Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill

disgust

I racked my brain to try and find a book that I was more disgusted with than Louise O’Neill’s Only Ever Yours. Don’t get me wrong, I love the book (one of the best books I’ve read) but it’s so intense! I think I was just disgusted with how we treat young girls in today’s society and that was reflected in the book.

Fear – The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

fear

I’m not a massive horror or thriller reader (I have a very overactive imagination) but after hearing various friends and family members rave about this book I had to read it and break my personal boycott of thriller novels to read The Girl on the Train and I’m so glad I did even if it did scare me sleepless. It was so tense and kept me turning the pages long into the night and it was scary for me because it could happen to anyone really.

Sadness – Looking for Alaska by John Green (SPOILERS!)

sadness

I know a lot of people generally say that TFIOS was John Green’s saddest book but I have to admit that I cried more at Looking for Alaska.

*SPOILERS*

I cried more because I felt that Alaska’s death didn’t justify her and she never got a sort of-happy ending, she was robbed of a chance of a better life whereas Hazel and Gus at least got some time together and got closure (kind of – it still hurts though!)

Anger – Lord of the Flies by William Golding

anger

I have never hated a book as much as I hate Lord of the Flies. Part of it stems from the fact that I had to read it for school (I really hate required reading) but I mainly hate it because it is boring and makes zero sense. The first 100 pages I had no idea what was going on and it feels like it’s just a first draft of a novel as opposed to the finished thing. It was the first book I have ever thrown across the room in frustration and I will do many more times as I have to reread it for my summer exam (such fun!)

These are my picks, what about you guys? I tag Faridah over at She Who WritesDaniel over at The Blogger’s Bookshop and Naomi over at The Perks of Being a Bookworm. (Tags are optional though! 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

