August Wrap Up and September TBR

To make up for my lack of reviews these past few weeks (I’ve been in a bit of a slump :/) I have created a new segment which is very popular with other bloggers – and that is to write about what I read over the past month and what I am going to try to read this month.

August Wrap Up

  1. Emmy and Oliver by Robin Benway (2.5 stars)

emmy and oliver

So I received a copy of Emmy and Oliver to review by Maximum Pop! magazine and I hadn’t heard much about it before that. The premise was very interesting – it told the story of 2 friends after one returns after being kidnapped several years before. It had various twists and turns but at times stuck to the atypical contemporary romance plot. Nevertheless it was quite sweet and a very easy read.

2) This Is Not a Love Story by Keren David (3.5 stars)

this is not a love story

After hearing wonderful things about this book from the blogging community I picked up a copy from my local library and began reading straightaway. Unlike Emmy and Oliver, the premise was seemingly ordinary (A teenage girl moves to Amsterdam with her mother after her father dies and meets lots of other expats) but the plot was deceivingly twisty. I loved how the love story chopped and changed so you never really knew who was going to fall in love but it wasn’t the most gripping of books and it just kind of fell flat from the middle onwards.

3) Girls Will Be Girls by Emer O’Toole (5 stars)

girls will be girls

Girls Will Be Girls was recommended to me by another blogger and was the only non-fiction book I read this month (well, this year really) and I LOVED it! It was funny and serious and full of thought provoking messages about the way we perceive gender, sexuality and the feminist movement in today’s society – it made me fall in love with feminism all over again as it reminded me of what I’m fighting for and why. I cannot recommend this book enough!

4) Another Day by David Levithan (5 stars)

another day

I read this shortly before attending the ‘New Day, New Normal’ talk at my local bookshop that featured Mr Levithan and another YA author, Lisa Williamson. Another Day was the keenly anticipated sequel to Every  Day, which told the story of A as they changed bodies each day and how they fell in love with Rhiannon after they took the form of her boyfriend. Another Day is the same story essentially, but told from Rhiannon’s point of view. It was just as good as Every Day and equally as heartbreaking.

5) Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn (4.5 stars)

dash and lily

One of my close friends lent this to me and raved about it and she was not wrong to! Told in dual perspectives of Dash and Lily, it follows them as they give each other dares throughout New York City at Christmas but have never met each other. It’s full of ups and downs, tears and laughter, tension and carelessness and was a really satisfying read – I just wish it was longer!

6) Black Dove, White Raven by Elizabeth Wein (5 stars)

black dove white raven

I received a copy of this book from a fellow blogger in a giveaway and although it wasn’t really a genre I read a lot, I was pleasantly surprised at how gripping it was as it followed Emilia and Teo in adjusting to life in Ethiopia and the Ethiopian war and the limits their friendship was pushed to. Even though it took me a while to read, it was definitely worth it!

September TBR

This month I have lots of books on my TBR but I am hoping to read (or at least start) the following books:

  1. All the Rage by Courtney Summers (proof copy) – currently reading
  2. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
  3. Riot by Sarah Mussi
  4. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
  5. The Good Luck of Right Now by Matthew Quick

What’s on your TBR list for this month?

Note: I will endeavour to post reviews of the books which I have read this month.

Leave a Reply

